social facebook box blue 24social twitter box blue 24social linkedin box blue 24social google box 24


The Chamber operates under an elected Board of Directors, and seven standing committees.  The Chamber also organizes ad hoc committees and short-term task forces to address specific issues such as immediatly pending business legislation and community charity events.  These Committees are designed to serve the business community and the Chamber membership.  They are open for Chamber member attendance unless otherwise indicated.

The Chamber Ambassadors function as the public relations arm for the Chamber. They represent the Chamber in the community at ribbon-cuttings, community celebrations and serve as hosts and hostesses at Chamber events. The committee, chaired by Bob Burton, is also responsible for welcoming new members and introducing them to existing members at Chamber functions.

The San Diego East County Chamber of Commerce’s Business Education Committee believes that education is the cornerstone of our region’s economic health and is key to the well-being of all our member businesses and residents. The Mission of the Business Education Committee is to bring school districts, colleges and member businesses together in order to:

The Events Committee is a crucial component for the success of the San Diego East County Chamber of Commerce. The committee is responsible for coordinating with the Chamber staff, Chamber members and the community, to both create and execute, successful and profitable events. The committee, chaired by Renae Arabo, is comprised of volunteers from Chamber members, the community and the Board of Directors and is a backbone for the Chamber.

The Chamber’s Finance Committee works with the Executive Board and President/CEO of the Chamber in an advisory capacity.  The committee works on The Chamber’s annual budget. In addition we meet regularly to monitor the budget and to identify trends in the business and economic market that have a potential to effect the day to day operations of The Chamber.

This committee is the workhorse of the Chamber’s political and legal advocacy for business in East County. The committee analyzes pending legislation and then makes recommendations to the Board of Directors.  It also acts as a forum bringing together business people and government officials on a monthly basis to review government actions on local, state, and federal levels.

This committee is functioning as the eyes and ears of the Chamber with regard to healthcare reform initiatives. The committee analyzes state and federal proposals and weighs them against key principles adopted by the Chamber’s Board of Directors, making recommendations to the Government Affairs Committee for legislative action and advocacy when appropriate.

This committee is tasked with vetting issues that pertain to land use, zoning, general plans and amendments and water, utilities and highway infrastructure. These issues, economic drivers that are a tangible combination of local, state and federal policy and the business environment, are key factors for the Chamber and the business community.

The mission of the Leadership East County is to utilize the unique perspective, experience and talent of its membership to identify, mentor and prepare the East County leaders of tomorrow with these goals:

The fundamental foundation of the San Diego East County Chamber of Commerce is their Members. Our membership is the driving force of the SDECCC and we want to make sure your needs are met. The Membership committee and its chair, Kevin Miller, would love your input on how we can better serve you...our Members!

Standing Monthly Committee Meetings

First Tuesday Leadership Steering 8:00 am Cliff Diamond/Debra Emerson - Co-Chairs
Second Wednesday Ambassadors 12:00 Noon Bob Burton - Chair
Second Thursday Executive Board 7:30 am Marcel Becker - Chair (as needed)
Second Thursday Board of Directors 8:00 am Marcell Becker - Chair
Second Thursday Marketing & Social Media 10:00 am Dana Sass - Chair
Third Tuesday Membership 12:00 Noon Kevin Miller, chair
Third Wednesday Healthcare Reform 4:00 pm Erick Lundy - Chair
Third Thursday Infrastructure & Land Use 8:00 am Arkan Somo - Chair (as needed)
Third Friday Business Education 8:00 am Steve Devan - Chair
Fourth Tuesday Government Affairs 7:30am Barry Jantz - Chair
Fourth Thursday Member 2 Member 8:00 am Ramona Bommer - Chair
Fourth Friday Finance 8:00 am Steve Hamann - Chair

Foundation Board Meetings are quarterly.